The Ebb and Flow-ish

It’s been months since I last updated this blog. I wish I could say that I’m excited to start it up again, and in some ways I am, but for the most part the resumption of my story only serves to highlight my dismal lack of progress over the course of late fall and early winter.

It’s depressing. So much so that I haven’t even brought myself to post the dozens of pictures of the last weeks’ substantive work in September and October.

My obligatory excuses for my absence:

  • October was impossible: everyone and their cousin had a birthday in October, including me. I turned 30 on October 12. This, combined with other events and happenings meant that I was only able to get a few precious days at the garage.
  • November was the same: We had two Thanksgiving weekends (one a week early visiting Kelly’s folks in Georgia). I think I got up to the garage once or twice, each time failing to make any significant progress because of one hiccup or another.
  • December was cold. Plus Christmas. Plus other things.
  • January was just nipple-shattering cold. I would have been best served by buying a large kerosene heater, but the garage is so full of car parts that there is no place to put it. I have a few small electric space heaters, but they barely bring the place above freezing (if you’re standing on the right side of the room) and they trip the fuse. And forget about doing anything that creates dust–after a few minutes with the doors closed, I could barely see in there.

So, fail.

But good news! For the first time in a long time I was able to put in some solid work this past Saturday. For the next few weekends, I will have to pick and choose my battles with the weather, but I’m dedicated to getting up there and digging in whenever it’s remotely possible. Like an avalanche of Nutella, I will slowly, but deliciously, slide my way down from this mountain of despair. As the weather warms up, I’ll transform into a better metaphor.

In the meantime, I still have a lot of photos to show everyone, so I will try to release a couple posts over the next few weeks to get everyone caught up. Alright? Alright!

Leave a comment